The Roy Ross Award
The Roy Ross Award

Roy Ross was a member of the San Francisco Randonneurs from 2013 until his untimely passing in 2020. During his time as a randonneur, he achieved many remarkable goals, including multiple K-Hounds and Super 600ks, and completed Paris-Brest-Paris in 2019.

He always sought out the toughest rides and would never DNF, no matter how hard things got. When the SFR Adventure Series was first run in 2014, Roy knew that these rides fit him well and relished the challenge. He completed the series no fewer than 5 times. For context, only two other riders, Bryan Kilgore and Florian Schneider, have completed the annual series more than once, and each has done it only twice.

After Roy’s death in 2020, the San Francisco Randonneurs decided to honor his memory with this award for any rider who completes all four Adventure Series events in one year. His tenacity and grit continue to inspire us to take on this challenge.

The picture below was taken on the 2014 edition of the Orr Springs 600k. Roy’s fork separated on the descent into Ukiah. He was lucky to avoid an ugly crash and was able to make it to the control in town. Rather than give up, he borrowed a bike from a rider who had DNFed and completed the ride with 40 minutes to spare—yet another example of his resilience and determination.

(Note on qualifying for the award: a rider may substitute one event for the Permanent version and still receive the award.)

Photo credit: Paul Sauer

Previous Roy Ross Award Winners

Year Rider
2023 Stephen Chan
2023 Florian Schneider
2023 Drew Levitt
2022 Bryan Kilgore
2022 Florian Schneider
2022 Douglas Williams
2021 Bryan Kilgore
2021 Dan Pannell
2019 Roy Ross
2018 Roy Ross
2016 Cheryl Becker
2016 Roy Ross
2016 Eric Walstad
2015 William Brier
2015 Roy Ross
2014 Megan Arnold
2014 Thomas Haggerty
2014 Patrick Herlihy
2014 Bryan Kilgore
2014 Eric Marshall
2014 Roy Ross
2014 Metin Uz